Makeup · My makeup collection

Skin perfecting face primers – collection and mini review

To finish off my series of face primers, today I’d like to write about skin perfecting primers I own. Basically, these primers are skin smoothing primers that blur out pores and fine lines and help your makeup glide on easily and stay on longer. Here and here you can find my posts about illuminating and hydrating face primers.

IMG_2882

IMG_3005
L-R: NYX Angel Veil primer, MUFE Step 1 Smoothing primer, The Ordinary High-Adherence Silicone primer, Innisfree No sebum blur primer, The Ordinary High-Spreadability Fluid primer, unfortunately Hourglass Veil Mineral primer is empty

 

NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting Primer 30 ml (16 USD)

IMG_2883

This is a silicone based primer with lotion-like texture that creates beautiful soft focus effect on the skin. I’ve written about this one here.

 

Makeup Forever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Smoothing Primer 15 ml (17 USD)

IMG_2885

This primer is oil-free and silicone-free. It evens out skin texture by minimising pores, wrinkles and fine lines leaving my face silky soft and prepped for foundation application. A little goes a long the way and I’ve had it for quite some time now. Love how my makeup holds up whenever I apply this one.

 

The Ordinary High-Adherence Silicone Primer 30 ml (5.50 USD)

IMG_2886

This is an oil-free, silicone based primer that blurs out my pores and skin imperfections. It also gives my skin subtle matte effect and keeps my makeup stay on longer. However, my face does get oily after few hours of wear.

 

Innisfree No Sebum Blur Primer 25 ml (12 USD)

IMG_2887

This primer is supposed to work like Benefit’s POREfessional primer, but since I don’t own one I can’t compare them. This is a silicone based, tinted primer that is supposed to fill up your pores and give your skin a silky smooth, poreless finish. It has a fresh minty scent. After applying small amount of this primer, my face looks airbrushed – wow. It does have properties to control oil production, but my T-zone still gets oily after few hours of wear.

 

The Ordinary High-Spreadability Fluid Primer 30 ml (8 USD)

IMG_2888

This is a serum-like, silicone based, oil-free primer that helps my makeup apply more evenly and easily. It feels lightweight on the skin and gives me a slightly dewy effect. Just like any silicone based primer, it gives that velvety smooth feeling on the face.

 

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer 8.9 ml (17 USD)

IMG_2889

One more silicone based primer that smooths out my skin and preps it for flawless makeup application. Probably my favourite primer ever. You can read more about it here.

Conclusion

Makeup primer is a must have for me – I never apply my foundation without a primer. The main reason for being so is that my makeup applies so much better and stays on for longer without separating or getting cakey. Also it creates a barrier between my skin and makeup.

Do you have any recommendations?

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a comment