Makeup

Hourglass Veil Mineral primer vs. NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting primer – dupes?

Hello darlings! It’s been almost a year since I bought my Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer and as the bottle was getting empty I already started saving money to get a new one – this time a bigger packaging. Then a thought crossed my mind – I’ve heard there is a great dupe for it in the drugstore section – NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting Primer. While everyone is raving about NYX being a dupe for Hourglass, I had to try it for myself first.

Hourglass is one of my favourite luxury brands out there and one of the first items I ever got was their Veil Mineral Primer. Due to the eye-watering price I opted for the travel size just to see if I like it – and still I paid around 20 USD for not even 10 ml of product. One thing I can say, it did last pretty long time, you only need a small amount of product with each application.

IMG_2017

Product description

Hourglass Veil Mineral primer claims to minimise the look of visible pores, fine lines and imperfections, creating smooth, even surface for the effortless foundation application. It also claims to extend the wear time of your foundation. It is an oil-free formula and has the SPF 15. It is formulated without parabens, fragrance, sulfates, nanoparticles, phthalates, gluten and syntetic dyes. It’s vegan and not tested on animals.

Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polysilicone-11, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isosterate, Stearic Acid, Alumina. Active: Zinc Oxide (4.2%), Titanium Dioxide (2.45%)

NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting primer claims to create smooth uniform canvas that minimises shine and makes makeup application flawless. It is also oil-free.

Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polysilicone-1, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate, Nylon-12, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Laureth-12, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

Comparison

First, the packaging. Hourglass Veil Mineral primer comes in a frosted glass bottle with a pump, while NYX Angel Veil primer comes in a plastic tube with a pink cap. Both packagings make application hygienic, no complaints there. I find that NYX one is more travel friendly.

Now the ugly part – the price. Depending on the size, Hourglass costs from 19 USD (8.9 ml) to 75 USD (60 ml). NYX retails for 16 USD and you get 30 ml of product. Well, that’s a difference.

Let’s get into the product comparison. They both come as a white lotion – NYX being a little thicker in consistency. I find that both need to be shaken before use, because they can separate in the bottle. Both have the same feel on the skin – silky and velvety – like all silicone based primers. Hourglass primer spreads a little easier, but they both offer the same soft focus effect on the skin – making my pores blurred, softening the lines and making my foundation application effortless. The finish I get with both is satiny matte, flawless looking skin. I do have to warn you – NYX primer leaves a slight white cast on the face – not a problem for my light to medium complexion, but could be for the darker ladies out there. I find that none of the two keeps me shine free for the longer period of time – my T-zone gets oily no matter what primer I use. My makeup stays in place with both for good 8 to 10 hours without separating or getting cakey. However, none of the two stops my foundation getting into the fine lines around my mouth.

IMG_2018

Conclusion – are they dupes?

I’d have to say yes. There are only slight differences, but as the end result is the same, NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting primer is the real deal, especially for the price. If you are on a budget, I’d say skip the Hourglass one and get NYX primer. However, if you are as crazy as me and love some good luxury makeup product, I’d say go with the Hourglass one. I will definitely be repurchasing it.

Until next time, XoXo

One thought on “Hourglass Veil Mineral primer vs. NYX Angel Veil Skin Perfecting primer – dupes?

Leave a comment